Skip to content

Color Coding – Ethernet Cables

Types of Ethernet Cables

Category-5 cables
Category-5E cables
Category-6 cables
Category-6E cables


T568A is the majority standard followed in European and Pacific countries. It is also used in all United States government installations.


T568B is the standard followed by the majority of Ethernet installations in the United States for RJ45 color code. It is the more common standard used when cabling for businesses.

Ethernet cable Color-coded wiring sequences exist as a cabling industry standard. It allows cabling technicians to reliably predict how Ethernet cable is terminated on both ends so they can follow other technicians’ work without having to guess or spend time deciphering the function and connections of each wire pair. Ethernet cable jack wiring follows the T568A and T568B standards.

There is no electrical difference between the T568A and T568B wire sequences, so neither is inherently superior. The only difference between them is how frequently they are used in a particular region or type of organization. So, your choice of color code – which one is “right” – will largely depend on the country you work in and what types of organizations you install for.

Straight-Through Ethernet Cable Pin Out for T568A

Straight-Through Ethernet Cable Pin Out for T568B

Crossover Ethernet Cable Pin Outs


Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
error: Content is protected !!